Real Estate Institute of Rhode Island | All Rights Reserved 2023
Rhode Island requires all real estate license candidates to sit for a 45 hour pre-licensing class with live interactive instructors.
- A curriculum that fulfills the 45-hour RI license requirement including 3 hours of Agency training
- Certified and approved Instructors
- Day, night or weekend class schedules
- Class Audit, take the entire course or any individual class over again FREE for up to six months after completing your classes
- The required Lead Paint class, offered to all students
- The most up to date Modern Real Estate Practice study textbook
- A digital RI Law Addendum and files compiled and updated regularly to enable you to complete the RI Law exam
- One on one career advice with our guidance counselor to help you launch a successful career in real estate
- Continuing education programs offered to develop your skills and knowledge in real estate
All RI real estate candidates are licensed by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. An application signed by the applicant and principal broker where you will maintain your real estate license is required and must include the following requirements. Having a brokerage to affiliate with is not required to take the classes and sit for the exam.
- Applicant must be at least 18 years old.
- Completion of 45 hours of Sales Pre-license training which includes the required 3 hours of Agency Law.
- Completion of 3-hour Lead Paint Hazards/Awareness course.
- A passing grade on the state licensing exam (70% or higher).
- A criminal history record.
- Broker signature on application.
- E&O Insurance (typically through your broker).
- Applicable application fees.
The first step in meeting the requirements to become a Rhode Island licensed real estate agent is completion of the 45 hour pre-licensing class.
Enroll today, start tomorrow
Real Estate Pre-License Requirements